

MICHAEL CURTIS ELECTIONS COMMISSION CHAIR

STATE OF HAWAII ELECTIONS COMMISSION

WRITTEN SUMMARY FOR VIDEO RECORDING

REGULAR MEETING OF THE ELECTIONS COMMISSION

July 16, 2025 at 10:00 AM

The video of the meeting may be viewed on our website at: https://elections.hawaii.gov/about-us/boards-and-commissions/elections-commission/.

PROCEEDINGS

I. Call to order [10:00 AM]

The regular meeting of the Elections Commission was called to order by Chair Curtis.

- II. Introduce new Commissioner; Lindsay Kamm, completing term of Anita Aquino [10:00 AM]
- III. Roll call and determination of a quorum [10:00 AM]

All members of the Elections Commission were present at the meeting with the exception of Commissioner Kuwada.

Commissioner Osterkamp entered the meeting at 10:03 AM.

IV. Approval of the written minutes from the March 19, 2025 meeting [10:01 AM]

Public testimony was provided by Shelby Billionaire, Jamie Detwiler, Tara Rojas, Representative Garner Shimizu, Karl Dicks, Leonard Nakoa, Andrew Aker, Jennifer Hunt, Gary Cordery, Judy L., Jennifer Cabjuan, Susan Strom, Andy Crossland, Blanca Larson, Jaerick Medeiros, Annie O'Neill, Claire Yamashiro, and Keone Payton.

Commissioner McAdam moved to approve the minutes. The motion was

seconded by Commissioner Osterkamp and **failed** noting the excused absence of Commissioner Kuwada. [10:39 AM]

YES: McAdam, Osterkamp, Young, Curtis

- NO: Andrion, Cushnie, Kamm, Papalimu
- V. Communications and correspondence, received for the record [10:47 AM]

Public testimony was provided by Andy Crossland, Blanca Larson, Jennifer Hunt, Jamie Detwiler, Shelby Billionaire, Tara Rojas, Jennifer Cabjuan, Keone Payton, Karl Dicks, Representative Garner Shimizu, and Susan Strom.

Commissioner Cushnie moved to have the Elections Commission refer the complaints listed under Communications and Correspondence on today's agenda to the Office of Elections for a written response, as required by HAR §3-170-8, and to have the matter taken up at the next meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Papalimu and **failed** noting the excused absence of Commissioner Kuwada. [10:47 AM]

- YES: Andrion, Cushnie, Kamm, Papalimu
- NO: McAdam, Osterkamp, Young, Curtis
- VI. Relating to chain of custody complaints and concerns; with the Commission's approval, establish a Permitted Interaction Group (P.I.G. task force) for the purposes of investigating: [11:29 AM]

a) Complaints relating to the chain of custody of election ballots. Similar information was considered by the Hawaii Supreme Court in #SCEC-24-0000797; RALPH S. CUSHNIE and more than THIRTY VOTERS, Plaintiffs, vs. SCOTT NAGO, as Chief Elections Officer for the Office of Elections, State of Hawaii, and JADE FOUNTAIN-TANIGAWA, County Clerk for the County of Kauai, Defendants, and by the 5th Circuit Court in #5CCV-25-0000041; RALPH S. CUSHNIE, Pro Se vs. SCOTT NAGO, in his official capacity as Chief Elections Officer for the Office of Elections, State of Hawaii; JADE K. FOUNTAIN-TANIGAWA, County Clerk for the County of Kauai, State of Hawaii.

b) Claims of intentional malfeasance by County and State Clerks and Elections Officers during the Kauai County Councilmember Race in the 2024 General Election.

Public testimony was provided by Jennifer Hunt, Adriel Lam, Andy Crossland, Linda Miyata, Jamie Detwiler, Wallyn Christian, Jennifer Cabjuan, Laura

Nakanelua, Tara Rojas, Arthur Hannemann, Blanca Larson, Susan Strom, Gary Cordery, Karl Dicks, Keone Payton, Representative Garner Shimizu, Jaerick Medeiros, Steve Yoder, and Kellyna Campbell.

Commissioner Cushnie moved to form a Permitted Interaction Group (P.I.G.) pursuant to agenda item VI. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Andrion and **carried** noting the excused absence of Commissioner Kuwada. [12:43 PM]

YES: Andrion, Cushnie, Kamm, McAdam, Papalimu, Young, Curtis

- NO: Osterkamp
- VII. List of previous motions considered by the Elections Commission [12:52 PM]

Public testimony was provided by Andy Crossland, Tara Rojas, Susan Strom, Victoria Thompson, Noela Von Wiegandt, Steve Yoder, Jennifer Hunt, Jennifer Cabjuan, April 15-4, and Jamie Detwiler.

Commissioner Cushnie moved to discuss the status of motions that have been previously made and adopted. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Papalimu and **carried** noting the excused absence of Commissioner Kuwada. [12:53 PM]

YES: Andrion, Cushnie, Kamm, McAdam, Osterkamp, Papalimu, Young

NO: None

ABSTAIN: Curtis

Commissioner Cushnie moved to include the signature sensitivity settings and signature verification as an agenda item at the next available meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Andrion and **carried** noting the excused absence of Commissioner Kuwada and McAdam. [1:47 PM]

YES: Andrion, Cushnie, Kamm, Papalimu, Young, Curtis

NO: Osterkamp

VIII. Receipt of P.I.G. report from Commissioner Young [1:28 PM]

Commissioner Papalimu moved to receive the Permitted Interaction Group (P.I.G.) report from Commissioner Young. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Cushnie and **carried** unanimously noting the excused absence of Commissioner Kuwada and McAdam. [1:28 PM]

Elections Commission Meeting Summary July 16, 2025 Page 4

IX. Adjournment [2:42 PM]

Chair Curtis adjourned the meeting at 2:42 PM.