

STATE OF HAWAII ELECTIONS COMMISSION

MICHAEL CURTIS ELECTIONS COMMISSION CHAIR

WRITTEN SUMMARY FOR VIDEO RECORD

REGULAR MEETING OF THE ELECTIONS COMMISSION

October 8, 2024 @ 9:00 a.m.

Note: The video of the meeting may be viewed on our website at <u>https://elections.hawaii.gov/about-us/boards-and-commissions/elections-</u> <u>commission/</u>

PROCEEDINGS

I. Call to Order [9:00 a.m.]

The regular meeting of the Elections Commission was called to order by Chair Curtis.

II. Roll Call and Determination of a Quorum [9:00 a.m.]

All members of the Elections Commission were present at the meeting with the exception of Commissioner Andrion, Commissioner Kuwada, and Commissioner McAdam.

III. Discussion and Decision Making on Response to Sunshine Law Complaint (S Appeal 25-02) [9:00 a.m.]

Deputy Attorney General Bryan Yee did a presentation on the Sunshine Law Complaint.

Commissioner Osterkamp made a motion to void the last meeting due to violation of the Sunshine Law. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Young. [9:09 a.m.]

Public testimony was provided by Andy Crossland, Kellyna Campbell, Doug Pasnik, Nolan Chang, Wallyn Christian, Jamie Detwiler, Karl Dicks, Phil Izon, Kathleen Stanley, Gary Cordery, Tamara McKay, Tara Malia, Kai Lorinc, Belinda Jacobs, Chrisneff, Keikilani Ho, Jaerick, Mary Healy, Nicolette Vonwiegandt, Adrean, Keahou, Kim Cordery, Sheryl Bieler, and Wendy Balidoy. Commissioner Papalimu proposed to amend the motion that the Commission does not void the meeting but acknowledge violation of the Sunshine Law. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Cushnie and carried noting the excused absences of Commissioners Andrion, Kuwada, and McAdam. [10:54 a.m.]

- YES: Aquino, Cushnie, Papalimu, Young, Curtis
- NO: Osterkamp

The original motion as amended was to admit to Sunshine Law violation at the last meeting. Commissioner Cushnie moved to have an amendment to say that the Chair was in violation of the Sunshine Law. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Aquino and failed noting the excused absences of Commissioners Andrion, Kuwada, and McAdam. [10:59 a.m.]

- YES: Aquino, Cushnie, Papalimu
- NO: Osterkamp, Young, Curtis

The motion on the floor went back to admitting to Sunshine Law violation at the last meeting. The motion failed noting the excused absences of Commissioners Andrion, Kuwada, and McAdam. [11:03 a.m.]

- YES: Osterkamp, Young, Curtis
- NO: Aquino, Cushnie, Papalimu

Commissioner Papalimu left the meeting at 11:11 a.m.

Commissioner Cushnie made a motion to vote on whether the Commission followed HRS 92-7(d) at the last meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Aquino and failed noting the excused absences of Commissioners Andrion, Kuwada, McAdam, and Papalimu. [11:07 a.m.]

YES:	Osterkamp, Curtis
NO:	Aquino, Cushnie, Young

IV. Adjournment [11:23 a.m.]

Chair Curtis adjourned the meeting at 11:24 a.m.