

### STATE OF HAWAII ELECTIONS COMMISSION

F.M. SCOTTY ANDERSON ELECTIONS COMMISSION CHAIR

## WRITTEN SUMMARY FOR VIDEO RECORD

### REGULAR MEETING OF THE ELECTION COMMISSION

# MARCH 18, 2022 @ 3:45 PM

Note: The video of the meeting may be viewed on our website at <u>https://elections.hawaii.gov/about-us/boards-and-</u> commissions/elections-commission/

# PROCEEDINGS

The time reference below indicates the point in the video when the stated action begins.

I. Call to Order [3:45 PM]

The regular meeting of the Elections Commission was called to order by Chair F.M. Scotty Anderson.

II. Roll Call and Determination of a Quorum [3:45 PM]

All members of the Elections Commission were present at the meeting with the exception of Commissioner Motta.

III. Status of Operations Report from the Chief Election Officer [3:46 PM]

Commissioner Motta entered at 3:48 PM.

IV. Public Testimony – Any interested person may submit comments or testimony on any agenda item. [3:56 PM]

Public testimony was provided by Adriel Lam, Sandy Ma, Anthony Gairnese, Laura Nakanelua, Noela Von Wiegandt, Corinne Solomon, and Deborah Bear Barbour. Commissioner Dean left the meeting at 4:48 PM.

Commissioner Kuwada left the meeting at 5:08 PM.

[5:20 PM]

Commissioner Curtis made a motion to initiate an investigation into the 2020 Hawaii Election operations of each County Elections Division regarding the handling of ballots, which was seconded by Commissioner Koller.

Commissioner Takenaka left the meeting at 5:21 PM.

#### [5:44 PM]

Commissioner Curtis made a motion to defer the action on the previous motion until April 1, 2022, which was seconded by Commissioner Koller, and approved by the Commission.

AYES: Anderson, Curtis, Kiguchi, Koller, Motta

No: Seielstad

- V. Consideration of Investigation Regarding Written Complaints Submitted by Adriel Lam, Pursuant to HAR §§ 3-170-6 through -9, and Action as Necessary
- VI. Adjournment [5:46 PM]

Commissioner Curtis made a motion to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded by Commissioner Kiguchi, and approved unanimously by the Commission with the exceptions of Commissioner Dean, Commissioner Kuwada, and Commissioner Takenaka.