

MARK MUGIISHI, M.D. CHAIR

STATE OF HAWAII REAPPORTIONMENT COMMISSION

WRITTEN SUMMARY FOR VIDEO RECORD

REGULAR MEETING OF THE REAPPORTIONMENT COMMISSION

JANUARY 21, 2022 @ 10:00 AM

Note: The video of the meeting may be viewed on our website at https://elections.hawaii.gov/about-us/boards-and-commissions/reapportionment/

PROCEEDINGS

The time reference below indicates the point in the video of when the stated action begins.

I. Call to Order [10:01 AM]

The regular meeting of the Reapportionment Commission was called to order by Chair Mark Mugiishi.

II. Roll Call and Determination of a Quorum [10:01 AM]

All members of the Reapportionment Commission were present at the start of the meeting with the exception of Commissioner Kennedy, Commissioner Nonaka, and Commissioner Rathbun.

III. Public Testimony [10:11 AM]

Public testimony was provided by Ralph Boyea, Mialisa Otis, Kapua Medeiros, Bart Dame, Kimeona Kane, Maki Morinoue, Larry Veray, Ariel Murphy, and Gordon Aoyagi.

IV. Consideration of Public Testimony Regarding Modified Final Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Plans Recommended by the Technical Committee Permitted Interaction Group [10:35 AM] Reapportionment Commission Meeting Summary January 21, 2022 Page 2

V. Reports by the Apportionment Advisory Councils [10:37 AM]

No reports were provided by the Apportionment Advisory Councils.

VI. Discussion and Potential Action on the January 11, 2022 Letter from the Hawaii State Senate Standing Committee on Government Operations Regarding Informational Briefing on Reapportionment [10:03 AM]

Pursuant to HRS § 92-5(a)(4), the Commission anticipates that it may need to hold an executive meeting to consult with its attorney on questions and issues pertaining to the Commission's powers, duties, privileges, immunities, and liabilities regarding this agenda item.

VII. Adjournment [10:38 AM]

Commissioner Ono made a motion to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded by Commissioner Chun and approved unanimously by the Commission noting the excused absence of Commissioner Kennedy, Commissioner Nonaka, and Commissioner Rathbun.