

MARK MUGIISHI, M.D. CHAIR

STATE OF HAWAII REAPPORTIONMENT COMMISSION

WRITTEN SUMMARY FOR VIDEO RECORD

REGULAR MEETING OF THE REAPPORTIONMENT COMMISSION

JANUARY 13, 2022 @ 1:00 PM

Note: The video of the meeting may be viewed on our website at <u>https://elections.hawaii.gov/about-us/boards-and-</u> <u>commissions/reapportionment/</u>

PROCEEDINGS

The time reference below indicates the point in the video of when the stated action begins.

I. Call to Order [1:00 PM]

The regular meeting of the Reapportionment Commission was called to order by Chair Mark Mugiishi.

II. Roll Call and Determination of a Quorum [1:01 PM]

All members of the Reapportionment Commission were present at the start of the meeting with the exception of Commissioner Chipchase.

[1:03 PM]

Commissioner Chipchase was acknowledged as present.

III. Reports by the Apportionment Advisory Councils [1:03 PM]

No reports were provided by the Apportionment Advisory Councils.

IV. Approval of Minutes for the Meeting of January 6, 2022 [1:04 PM]

Commissioner Nekota made a motion to approve the minutes for the

meeting of January 6, 2022, which was seconded by Commissioner Ono and approved unanimously by the Commission.

V. Presentation of Modified Proposed Final Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Plans by the Technical Committee Permitted Interaction Group [1:05 PM]

[1:33 PM]

Public testimony was provided by Bill Hicks, Mialisa Otis, Jeanné Kapela, Kimeona Kane, Ralph Boyea, Kapua Medeiros, Jeannine Johnson, Kainoa Kaumeheiwa-Rego, Mary Smart, Cory Harden, Trish La Chica, Larry Veray, Bart Dame, Lisa Bishop, Brenda Wong, Shannon Matson, May Mizuno, Ian Ross, Phil Barnes, Ariel Murphy, Roberta Mayor, Mary Marvin Porter, John Olsen, Kapohuolahaina Pa Moniz, Winston Welch, Becky Gardner, Louisa Keawe, and Claire Tamamoto.

VI. Adjournment [2:56 PM]

Commissioner Nekota made a motion to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded by Commissioner Kennedy and approved unanimously by the Commission.