COVID-19 Related Information: Safe Travels Hawaii Program | Safe Travels Platform Help | Labor FAQs | Human Services | Recovery Navigator



中文 Ilocano

Home » Resources » Archives » 2020 Electoral College

2020 ELECTORAL COLLEGE

When voters cast their vote for president and vice president, they are actually casting a vote for the slate of electors who has pledged their support for that same candidate. The Electoral College is a body of electors who meet every presidential election to elect the next president and vice president of the United States.

Each State is allocated a number of electors equal to the number of its U.S. Senators and U.S. Representatives. Hawaii has four (4) electoral votes out of the 538 electors nationwide.

The Electoral College will be held on

December 14, 2020, 2:00pm

Selection of Electors

Qualified political parties and parties or groups that complied with the presidential petition requirements of HRS §11-113 shall submit to the chief election officer its electors and alternates, after holding a state party or group convention pursuant to the constitution, bylaws, and rules of the party or group.

Members of Congress and employees of the federal government are prohibited from serving as an elector in order to maintain the balance between the legislative and executive branches of the federal government.

The deadline to submit electors and alternates is September 4, 2020, 4:30 pm.

2020 Presidential Electors and Alternates

American Shopping Party

Elector	First Alternate	Second Alternate
John Giuffre	Ranette Bautista	Matthew Nelms
Jean Prem	Felicitas Ballard	Sean Lee Combs
Clarence Bautista	Herbert Gomes	Scott Malis
William J. Murphy	Judy Gomes	Chuck Cohen

Constitution Party of Hawaii

Elector	First Alternate	Second Alternate
Edmund Gazmen	Andrew James Gazmen	Ruby Leah Razo
Jessica Lyn Elizares Gazmen	Victoria Laporga	Rodney Kaleialoha Cleveland
Matthew P. Kailihou	David Yuen Sui Kong, Jr.	Colette Noelani Cleveland
Annette Kailihou	Barbara Ann Kong	Annunciation Cadiz

Democratic Party of Hawaii

Elector	First Alternate	Second Alternate
Hermina (Mina) Morita	Lorraine R. Inouye	Roth Kaipo Puahala
John William Bickel	Juanita Brown Kawamoto	Jeffrey Portnoy
Kainoa Kaumeheiwa-Rego	Phillip (Eric) Schrager, Junior	Janice Bond
Michael Golojuch, Senior	Larry J. Smith	Osa Aneki Tui, Junior

Green Party of Hawaii

Elector	First Alternate	Second Alternate
William B. Dickinson	Sylvia Litchfield	Barryn Chun
Jeff Turner	Ramona Hussey	Melissa Shishido
Nick Nikhilananda	Joe Amico	Mosha Katani
Craig (Tor) Thorsen	Susan Roberts-Emery	Mark Van Doren

Libertarian Party of Hawaii

Elector	First Alternate	Second Alternate
Mark Coleman	Lawrence Bartley	Mark Monoscalco
Gregory Arianoff	Eric Weinert	Ken Schoolland
Craig De Costa	Patric Brock	Michael Strada
Joseph Kent	Tracy Ryan	Arnold Phillips

Hawaii Republican Party

Elector	First Alternate	Second Alternate
Allen Frenzel	Marilyn Moniz	Stephen Holck
Shirlene Ostrov	Boyd Ready	Gregory Lussier
Mark Blackburn	Ann Correa	John Henry Felix
Carol Thomas	Carolyn Alameida	Donna Van Osdol

General Election Ballot

In Hawaii, the names of the candidates for president and vice president is used on the ballot in place of the elector's names. The votes cast for president and vice president determine which electors meet for the Electoral College.

Election of President and Vice President

The chosen electors gathers at the Electoral College in their respective states to cast their votes for president and vice president.

The votes cast at the Electoral College are sent to the President of the Senate who reads them before a joint session of Congress on January 6th following the general election. The presidential ticket with the majority of votes is declared president and vice president.

If no candidate receives a majority of electoral votes (i.e. 270 out of 538), the U.S. House of Representatives elects the president from the three (3) presidential candidates who received the most electoral votes. Each state delegation has one (1) vote. The U.S. Senate elects the vice president from the two (2) vice president candidates with the most electoral votes. Each U.S. Senator casts one (1) vote for vice president. If the U.S. House of Representatives fails to elect a president by Inauguration Day, the vice president elect serves as acting president until the deadlock is resolved in the U.S. House of Representatives.

For complete information, please refer to the National Archives and Records Administration, U.S. Constitution, Article II, and HRS §11-113 and Chapter 14.

Information is available in alternate formats. If you require special assistance call the Office of Elections at 808-453-VOTE (8683). Neighbor Islands may call toll free 1-800-442-VOTE (8683) or e-mail us at elections@hawaii.gov.