# MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ELECTIONS COMMISSION

## **DECEMBER 30, 2009**

## **LOCATIONS**

Keoni Ana Building

1177 Alakea Street, Room 302 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hilo State Office Building

75 Aupuni Street, Basement Hilo. Hawaii 96720

Lihue State Office Building

3060 Eiwa Street, Basement Lihue, Hawaii 96766

Wailuku Judiciary Building 2145 Main Street, First Floor

Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

**Kailua Trade Center** 

75-5706 Hanama Place, Suite 109 Kailua-Kona, Hawaii 96740

## **Commissioners in Attendance:**

Mr. William Marston, Chair

Ms. Margaret Masunaga

Mr. Brian Nakashima

Mr. Harold Nelson

Ms. Zale Okazaki

Ms. Donna Soares

Ms. Yuki Lei Sugimura

Mr. Daniel Young

#### **Technical Support Staff in Attendance:**

Mr. Kevin Cronin, Chief Election Officer

Ms. Ciress Cuevo, Office of Elections

Mr. Scott Nago, Office of Elections

Mr. David Rosenbrock, Office of Elections

Mr. Aaron Schulaner, Office of Elections

Mr. Russell Suzuki, Department of the Attorney General

Mr. Charles Wong, Office of Elections

#### **Guests in Attendance:**

Ms. Lauren Anderson, Maui County Clerk's Office

Ms. Jean Aoki, League of Women Voters

Ms. Jo Kamae Byrne, Common Cause Hawaii

Mr. Calvert Chipcase IV, Republican Party of Hawaii

Ms. Cira de Castillo, AlohaVote.com

Mr. Bart Dame

Mr. Derrick DePledge, Honolulu Advertiser

Mr. Craig Gima, Honolulu Star Bulletin

Mr. Kenneth Goodenow, Hawaii County Clerk

Mr. Scott Jensen, Office of Council Services, Maui County

Mr. Jonah Kaauwai, Hawaii Republican Party

Mr. Erin Kealoha

Mr. Jeffrey Kuwada, Maui County Clerk

Ms. Nikki Love, Common Cause Hawaii

Ms. Shirley Magarifuji, Maui County Clerk's Office

Ms. Jo Ann Maruoka, League of Women Voters

Mr. Manolo Morales, KHON2

Ms. Pat Nakamoto, Hawaii County Clerk's Office

Mr. Peter Nakamura, Kauai County Clerk

Mr. David Raatz, Office of Council Services, Maui County

Ms. Cori Saiki, Hawaii County Clerk's Office

Mr. Glen Shikuma, Hawaii County Clerk's Office

Mr. Kimo Sutton

Mr. Lance Taguchi, Maui County Clerk's Office

Mr. Glen Takahashi, Honolulu City Clerk's Office

Ms. Katherine Thomason, Hawaii Republican Party

Mr. Karl Ubongen, Kauai County Clerk's Office

Ms. Geri Unciano, Kauai County Clerk's Office

Mr. Lyndon Yoshioka, Kauai County Clerk's Office

#### **PROCEEDINGS**

#### I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Chair William Marston at 10:00 a.m. on December 30, 2009 at the Lihue State Office Building.

## II. Roll Call and Determination of a Quorum

Ms. Ciress Cuevo, Elections Commission Secretary conducted roll call. Mr. Richard Swift was absent. Ms. Yuki Lei Sugimura and Mr. Harold Nelson were late.

III. Approval of Minutes of Meeting of December 2, 2009

Ms. Donna Soares moved to approve the minutes of the meeting of December 2, 2009. Mr. Daniel Young seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

IV. Public Testimony – Any interested person may submit data, views or arguments on any agenda item

Mr. Warner Kimo Sutton provided written and oral testimony recommending that internet voting be used to conduct the special election for Congressional District I.

Ms. Jean Aoki, League of Women Voters provided oral testimony expressing the need to conduct the special election to fill the vacancy should Representative Abercrombie resign in the near future and that the seat should not remain vacant until September.

Mr. Peter Nakamura, Kauai County Clerk provided written and oral testimony on behalf of all the County Clerks expressing their collective support for the appointment of Mr. Scott Nago as Hawaii's next Chef Election Officer (CEO).

V. Discussion on Special Election for Congressional District I Representative Seat

In response to Mr. Daniel Young's inquiry whether Mr. Sutton's recommendation is possible, Mr. Russell Suzuki, Deputy Attorney General opined that it is not permissible under current state law, but legislation could be proposed to the Legislature.

VI. Appointment of Selection Committee to Recruit Permanent Chief Election Officer

Chair Marston recommended that the Commission conduct the recruitment for the permanent CEO the same way it did the last time. Three Commissioners are to serve on the selection committee and present the four finalists to the entire Commission. Chair Marston asked that Ms. Zale Okazaki, Ms. Donna Soares, and Mr. Daniel Young serve on the committee.

Mr. Harold Nelson moved to approve Chair Marston's recommendation. Ms. Yuki Lei Sugimura seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Sugimura inquired about the time frame of the recruitment and suggested that the Commission appoint a permanent CEO after the General Election. Ms. Soares stated that the selection committee will make its recommendation to the Commission.

In response to Ms. Okazaki's question whether there is a statute that limits the recruitment to local or national, Mr. Suzuki opined that there is no such statute

and that the CEO must be a U.S. citizen, Hawaii resident, and a registered voter of the State of Hawaii.

Ms. Soares explained that the recruitment process is guided by law and that the Department of Accounting & General Services (DAGS) follows the guidelines. Ms. Soares assured the Commission that the recruitment will be conducted by the letter of the law.

# VII. Executive Session

- A. Pursuant to Haw. Rev. Stat. §92-5(4), consult with counsel regarding the commission's powers, duties, privileges, immunities and liabilities re:
  - 1. Babson v. Cronin, Civil No. 08-10-378(3)
  - Procurement appeals (ES&S v. Cronin, Civil No. 08-101657-08, Hart InterCivic v. ES&S, Civil No. 08-1-1665-08, Cronin v. ES&S, Civil No 08-1-1680-08)
- B. Pursuant to Haw. Rev. Stat. §92-5(a)(2) and 92-5(a)(4), consider hiring an interim Chief Election Officer, evaluate qualifications and possible candidates for the position and consult with counsel on questions and issues pertaining to the commission's powers and duties with respect to the hiring or appointment of an interim Chief Election Officer.

Ms. Okazaki moved for the Commission to go into executive session. Mr. Daniel seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

The Commission resolved to executive session at 10:28 a.m. and reconvened in open meeting at 11:00 a.m.

VIII. Appointment of Interim Chief Election Officer

Chair Marston announced that the Commission voted to appoint Mr. Scott Nago as the interim Chief Election Officer effective January 1, 2010 and asked for public comments. There were no public comments.

# IX. Adjournment

Chair Marston adjourned the meeting at 11:05 a.m. The next meeting date of the Elections Commission is to be determined.

Respectfully submitted,

Ciress Cuevo Elections Commission Secretary