MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ELECTIONS COMMISSION

FEBRUARY 8, 2007 10:00 a.m. KALANIMOKU BUILDING, ROOM 322A 1151 PUNCHBOWL STREET HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813

Commissioners in Attendance:

Mr. Harold Nelson Ms. Zale Okazaki Ms. Susan Russell, Acting Chair Ms. Donna Soares Mr. Richard Swift Mr. Daryl Yamamoto

Technical Support Staff in Attendance:

Mr. Mark Bennett, Attorney General

- Mr. Stephen Chang, Office of Elections
- Ms. Robyn Chun, Department of the Attorney General
- Ms. Ciress Cuevo, Office of Elections
- Ms. Judy Gold, Office of Elections
- Mr. Scott Nago, Office of Elections
- Mr. Rex Quidilla, Office of Elections
- Ms. Carolyn Roldan, Office of Elections
- Mr. David Rosenbrock, Office of Elections
- Mr. Russell Suzuki, Department of the Attorney General
- Ms. Lori Tomczyk, Office of Elections
- Ms. Robynn Yokooji, Office of Elections
- Mr. Dwayne D. Yoshina, Chief Election Officer

Guests in Attendance:

- Mr. Sam Aiona, Hawaii GOP
- Ms. Julia Allen
- Ms. Denise De Costa, City Clerk of Honolulu
- Mr. Roy Hiraga, County Clerk of Maui
- Mr. Glen Takahashi, City Clerk's Office
- Ms. Eliza Talbot, Hawaii GOP
- Ms. Malia Zimmerman

PROCEEDINGS

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by acting chair, Ms. Susan Russell at 10:00 a.m. on February 8, 2007 at the Kalanimoku Building room 322A.

II. Approval of Minutes – Meeting of September 8, 2006 (emailed earlier)

Mr. Harold Nelson moved to approve the minutes of the meeting of September 8, 2006. Mr. Richard Swift seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

III. Seating of New Member

Acting Chair Russell announced that there are two new members on the Elections Commission, Ms. Zale Okazaki of Honolulu and Donna Soares of Maui.

Robyn Chun, Deputy Attorney General swore in both Ms. Okazaki and Ms. Soares as Commissioners.

IV. Discussion on Procedure to Fill the Position of Commission Chair

Chair Russell reported that the Commission has not filled the position of the Commission Chair. Mr. Nelson and Chair Russell explained their efforts to find an individual to serve as the Chair. However, none of the individuals they spoke to expressed an interest to serve. Chair Russell asked the members of the Commission to assist in the search.

Further discussion on this item will be taken up at the next Commission meeting.

V. Rules & Regulations: Transmittal of Rules to DAGS and Governor

The Commission discussed the latest draft of the Hawaii Administrative Rules provided by the Attorney General's Office.

Ms. Soares noted that there are minor typographical errors in the rules and that the section regarding complaints may need to be amended to include time frames for complaints to be received and responded to by the Commission.

Chair Russell stated that the Commission could amend the rules as part of the public hearing process.

Mr. Nelson suggested that a public hearing take place on Oahu with neighbor island participation conducted via teleconference.

Chair Russell explained that any changes proposed during the hearing process would be reviewed and discussed by the Commission. Changes to the rules will have to be noted on the transmittal to the Governor including the reasons for change.

VI. Received Written Report of 2006 Primary and General Election (to be provided by the Chief Election Officer)

Chair Russell announced that the Commission is in receipt of the Chief Election Officer's report.

Mr. Nelson moved to receive the report for discussion at the next Commission meeting. Mr. Yamamoto seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

VII. Executive Session: Performance Evaluation and Appointment of Chief Election Officer (closed session)

Prior to the executive session, Mr. Roy Hiraga, County Clerk of Maui and Ms. Denise De Costa, City Clerk of Honolulu provided oral and written testimony to the Commission in support of Mr. Yoshina's reappointment as Chief Election Officer.

Mr. Nelson moved for the Commission to go in to executive session. Ms. Okazaki seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statute § 92-5(a)(8), the Commission resolved to executive session at 10:23 a.m. The executive session ended at 11:30 a.m., after which the Commission recessed. The meeting reconvened at 11:38 a.m.

Chair Russell noted that the Commission is in receipt of Mr. Yoshina's petition for reappointment as Chief Election Officer. The Commission will meet on March 1, 2007 to receive public testimony and consider Mr. Yoshina's reappointment.

VIII. Set Schedule for Quarterly Meetings for the Remainder of 2007 with additional meetings to be called as necessary

Chair Russell provided Commissioners her proposed schedule for quarterly meetings. She suggested that the Commission meetings be held on the first Thursdays of May, August, and September. The Commissioners agreed to Chair Russell's proposed scheduled.

IX. Old Business

There was no old business for discussion.

X. New Business

There was discussion between the Commission and the Office of Elections regarding proposed election-related legislation that was in the legislative report provided by the Office of Elections.

Correspondence

There was no correspondence or announcements for discussion.

XI. Adjournment

Mr. Nelson motioned to adjourn the meeting at 11:58 a.m. Ms. Okazaki seconded, and the motioned carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted, Rex M. Quidilla Elections Commission Secretary