MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ELECTIONS COMMISSION

JANUARY 27, 2005 10:00 a.m. KALANIMOKU BUILDING ROOM 322C 1151 PUNCHBOWL STREET HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813

Commissioners in Attendance:

Mr. Harold S. Masumoto, Interim Chair

Mr. Andrew I.T. Chang

Mr. Steven K. Christensen

Mr. Harold Nelson

Ms. Susan Russell

Mr. Richard Swift

Mr. Daryl T. Yamamoto

Technical Support Staff in Attendance:

Mr. Dwayne D. Yoshina, Chief Election Officer

Mrs. Robynn Yokooji, Office of Elections

Mr. David Rosenbrock, Office of Elections

Ms. Lori Tomczyk, Office of Elections

Mr. Rex Quidilla. Office of Elections

Ms. Judy Gold, Office of Elections

Ms. Ciress Cuevo, Office of Elections

Mr. Joey Manahan, Office of Elections

Mr. Aaron Schulaner, Department of the Attorney General

Mrs. Connie Kiriu, County Clerk of Hawaii

Mr. Peter Nakamura, County Clerk of Kauai

Mr. Roy Hiraga, County Clerk of Maui

Ms. Denise DeCosta, City Clerk of Honolulu

Mr. Glen Takahashi, Office of the City Clerk of Honolulu

PROCEEDINGS

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by interim chair, Mr. Harold Masumoto, at 10:00 a.m. on January 27, 2005 at the Kalanimoku Building Conference Room 322C for the purpose of briefing the Commission on elections operations.

II. Overview of Elections Operations

The Chief Election Officer, Mr. Dwayne D. Yoshina, section heads from the Office of Elections, and the County Clerks from the counties of Hawaii, Maui, Kauai, and the City and County of Honolulu gave an overview presentation of their roles and responsibilities as they relate to election administration.

III. Help America Vote Act of 2002--Implementation Status

Yoshina gave the presentation regarding the State of Hawaii's implementation of the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA). He reported that the State of Hawaii has taken the lead over most states having implemented all of HAVA's requirements by 2004. The deadline for states to meet the requirements of the HAVA mandate is 2006.

IV. Committees

A. Chair Selection Committee

Masumoto reported that he met with Ms. Susan Russell, and they will submit the names of the candidates for the Commission's approval to serve as the ninth member and chair of the Commission.

B. Rules Committee

Mr. Aaron Schulaner, Deputy Attorney General, reported that the Department of the Attorney General (AG) cannot be charged with drafting rules for the Commission however, the Commission may consult with the AG's Office once a set of rules has been drafted and submitted for review.

V. Election of Commission Secretary

A. Masumoto moved that Yoshina appoint staff member, Rex Quidilla, from the Office of Elections to serve as secretary for the Commission.

- B. Mr. Daryl Yamamoto seconded.
- C. There was no discussion.
- D. The motion carried unanimously.

VI. Correspondence and Announcements

- A. Yoshina reported correspondence from the Census Bureau regarding the identification of blocks and boundaries.
- B. Yoshina reported standard correspondence from the Federal Voting Assistance Program (FVAP) regarding recommendations for the Uniformed Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA) for the 2006 elections State of Hawaii.

VII. Adjournment

There being no other business, Mr. Steven Christensen moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Masumoto and unanimously carried by the Commissioners in attendance.

The regular meeting of the Elections Commission adjourned at 1:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Rex M. Quidilla Office of Elections