MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ELECTIONS COMMISSION

1:00 p.m. Hawaii State Capitol Room 309

Commissioners in Attendance:

Mr. Andrew I.T. Chang

Mr. Steven K. Christensen

Mr. Harold S. Masumoto

Mr. Kevin McNamara

Mr. Harold Nelson

Ms. Susan Russell

Mr. Daryl T. Yamamoto

Technical Support Staff in Attendance:

Mr. Dwayne D. Yoshina, Chief Election Officer

Mrs. Robynn Yokooji, Office of Elections

Mr. Marc Todoroki, Office of Elections

Ms. Ciress Cuevo, Office of Elections

Mr. Rex Quidilla, Office of Elections

Mr. Joey Manahan, Office of Elections

Mr. Aaron Schulaner, Department of the Attorney General

PROCEEDINGS

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m. on December 7, 2004 at State Capitol Conference Room 309 for the purposes of organizing the Commission.

II. Overview Act 57 by Aaron Schulaner, Deputy Attorney General (AG)

Deputy Attorney General Aaron Schulaner provided an overview of Act 57.

III. Administrative Procedures by Robynn Yokooji

Robynn Yokooji explained procedures to arrange for travel and reimbursement of incidental expenses.

- IV. Motions and Discussions of the Commission
 - A. Mr. Harold Masumoto was nominated by Mr. Steven Christensen to serve as interim chair of the Commission.

Ms. Susan Russell seconded.

Motion carried unanimously.

B. Masumoto moved to form a committee comprised of two Commission Members to propose candidates to serve as chair and ninth member of the Commission.

Russell seconded.

Motion carried unanimously.

C. Christensen moved to create a subcommittee to oversee drafting administrative rules for the Commission.

Russell seconded

Motion carried unanimously.

V. Adjournment

There being no other business, the Regular Meeting of the Elections Commission was adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Dwayne D. Yoshina Chief Election Officer