Section 3-17. County Reapportionment Commission.

- (a) There shall be a county reapportionment commission which shall establish the boundaries of the council districts.
- (b) The initial reapportionment commission shall consist of seven members, two of whom shall be residents of the combined judicial districts of North and South Hilo, one from the judicial district of Puna, one from the judicial district of Ka'u, one from the combined judicial districts of North and South Kona, one from the combined judicial districts of North and South Kohala, and one from the judicial district of Hamakua. The members shall be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the council in the manner prescribed in Section 13-4.
- (c) Each subsequent reapportionment commission shall consist of nine members. One member shall be a resident of each council district as established by the previous reapportionment commission. The members shall be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the council in the manner prescribed in Section 13-4.
- (d) The year 1991 and every tenth year thereafter shall be reapportionment years. The reapportionment commission shall be appointed and confirmed by March 1 of the reapportionment year, and shall file a reapportionment plan with the county clerk by December 31 of the reapportionment year. The reapportionment commission shall be dissolved after the filing of the reapportionment plan.
- (e) The county clerk shall furnish all necessary technical and secretarial services for the reapportionment commission. The council shall appropriate necessary funds to enable the commission to carry out its duties.
- (f) The reapportionment commission shall be guided by the following criteria in establishing the boundaries of the council districts:
 - (1) No district shall be drawn to unduly favor or penalize a person or political faction;
 - (2) Insofar as possible, districts should be contiguous and compact;
 - (3) District lines shall, where possible, follow permanent and easily recognizable features;
- (4) Districts shall have approximately equal resident populations as required by applicable constitutional provisions.
- (g) The district boundaries as established by the reapportionment commission shall be in effect at the first regularly scheduled council election following the filing of the plan and for any subsequent council election. The district boundaries in effect prior to the filing of the reapportionment plan shall remain in effect during the duration of the term of all councilmembers elected or appointed to represent such districts until the expiration of the full term of such councilmembers, including any election held to fill an unexpired term under Section 3-4. (Am 1990 Gen Elec)